Watch of the Year 2011 – “and the awards go to…”

Second edition of the “Watch of the Year” competition came to a happy end. Laureates headed by the Grand Prix and Public Choice winners will receive their commemorative statuettes during the dinner-gala on December 9th in Warsaw.

We are proud and happy to present you with the winners of this year’s “Watch of The Year” contest:

Classic watch – LAURENT FERRIER Galet Micro-Rotor
Sport watch – ZENITH El Primero Stratos Flyback
Complicated watch – Patek Philippe Ref.5208P
Ladies watch – Jaeger-LeCoultre Grand Reverso Lady Ultra Thin
Design/Concept watch – TAG Heuer Mikrotimer Flying 1000 Concept Chronograph
Watch priced up to 5000 PLN – Certina DS Action Diver

Public Prize – IWC Portuguese Siderale Scafusia


International jury along with (also international) readers – voting for the “Public Prize” – chose 9 winners in 9 competitive categories, including two brand-new: “Design/concept watch” and a “Special Jury Prize”. The last one as well as the grand prize – Grand Prix Watch of the Year – will be reveled on the special dinner gala in Warsaw (“Na Zielnej” restaurant), on December 9th.

Łukasz Doskocz, editor-in-chief “While this is only the second edition of our annual competition, we are more than happy of what we achieved, led by acquiring two of world-class journalists and a true appreciation of watch manufacturers. The best-of-the-best choice was obviously difficult and will for sure not satisfy everyone, but I can guarantee it was made out of hard work of the entire jury team.”

Tomasz Kiełtyka, MD CH24.PL: “This year’s ‘Watch of the Year’ competition brought many more public votes than a year ago. This is the best proof of the increasing popularity of the event, which – I hope – will result in rising interest in watchmaking art”.

Elizabeth Doerr, jurry member: „Chronos24’s Polish audience shows a great deal of taste and a surprising amount of aficionado mindset in choosing the IWC Sidérale in the category Public Prize. A great many deserving and beautiful watches have earned their statuettes at this year’s Watch of the Year award. It’s great to see watchmaking back to its old strength and honored like this.”

Kristian Haagen; jurry member: „It was a privilege to be part of the WOTY 2012 and exiting to see what my colleagues voted for versus my own choices. Congratulations to the winners – all well deserved!”

We’d like to pay our great respect and thank everyone who was involved in this year’s edition of “Watch of the Year”. We especially thank you, our readers, for participating and voting in one of the top categories of the competition.


Leave a Reply