“Watch of The Year 2014” award ceremony

It is already 5 years that CH24.PL awards most interesting watch premiers of the past 12 months. The jubilee edition was topped by special dinner gala in the home of our partner – Polish Business Roundtable Club.

Almost 100 invited guests, quality Scotch whisky, cuisine by Amber Room restaurant, live music, Victorinox Swiss Army knives (special, limited edition made speciallz for “WOTY 2014”) and watches – this is the shortest description of the grand finale night of the 2014 “Watch of The Year”, our humble, independent competition to award the best watches of the passing year.

When exactly 5 years ago we organized the first “WOTY” edition, most important and inviolable rule was to select and honor only the best of the best, no matter which brand’s logo graced their dial. We invited some of the most respected names in watch-journalism around the world to join the jury, and the outcome of the previous voting were Grand Prix awards to the likes of Audemars Piguet Royal Oak Offshore Diver (2010), Patek Philippe Ref. 5208P (2011), Jaeger-LeCoultre Duometre Spherotourbillon (2012) and A. Lange & Söhne Grand Complication (2013).

Watch of The Year 2014
Watch of The Year 2014

As every proud parent, we paid special attention to the jubilee “WOTY”. The jury this time was very strong, including 5 international specialists: Elizabeth Doerr (Quill&Pad), Kristian Haagen (Timegeeks), Miguel Saebra (Espiral do Tempo), Frank Geelen (Monochrome) and Amr Sindi (theHorophile). Poland’s representation included of course the CH24.PL team (myself, Tomasz Kiełtyka and Tomasz Jakubas) along with Dariusz Chlastawa (Polish Watch and Clocks Collectors Club) and Rafal Jemielita (moto-journalist and Playboy magazine editor). Together, through some very intense discussions and voting, we have chosen 6 winning timepieces and the Special Jury Prize (honoring important event, person or brand with high significance to watchmaking). One more vote went to our readers, so altogether we presented 9 statuettes, handcrafted in Poland. Host of the evening role went into the professional hands and voice of Rafal Jemielita, supported by Dariusz Fabrykiewicz from Wyborowa Pernod-Ricard, our faithful partner.

Watch of The Year 2014
Watch of The Year 2014

The big winner of the 2014 “WOTY” – second time in a row – turned out to be German manufacture A. Lange & Söhne and their gorgeous Richard Lange Perpetual Calendar Terraluna. And the awards went to…

"Grand Prix" - Richard Lange Perpetual Calendar Terraluna
“Grand Prix” – Richard Lange Perpetual Calendar Terraluna

Watch priced up to do 10.000PLN

The award in the category “Watch priced up to 10.000PLN” went to Tudor Heritage Black Bay “Midnight Blue”. On behalf of the Swiss brand the statuette was collected by Daria Szajnar (Marketing Director W.KRUK) and Radosław Jakociuk (Vice President of Sales Vistula Group SA).

Sports Watch

Richard Mille RM 35-01 „Rafa Nadal” was the winner of the category  “Sports Watch”. The award was collected by Denis Chauve (Sales Manager Europe Richard Mille).

Classic Watch

Best “Classic Watch”  of 2014 WOTY turned out to be the Vacheron Constantin Patrimony Contemporaine Ultra-Thin Calibre 1731, and the statuette went to Sarah Schröder (PR Manager Vacheron Constantin).

Innovation in watchmaking

In the “Innovation in watchmaking” category the jury decided to award Swatch Sistem51. The brand was represented by Marzena Żegota (Brand Manager Swatch and Flik Flak).

Public Prize

By majority vote of our readers the “Public Prize” went to Longines Heritage 1935. WOTY statuette was collected by Leszek Pilch (Brand Manager Longines).

Complicated watch

“Complicated watch”  of 2014 is the already mentioned A. Lange & Söhne Richard Lange Perpetual Calendar Terraluna. The statuette went into hands of Clemens von Walzel (Senior PR Manager A.Lange&Söhne) and Andreas Haude (A.Lange&Söhne).

Grand Prix and Special Jury Prize

This year’s Grand Prix – the best watch of 2014 – went to an amazing A. Lange & Söhne Richard Lange Perpetual Calendar Terraluna. The “Special Jury Prize” – awarded for an outstanding contribution to watchmaking – honored  Mr. Walter Lange.

The less official, informal part of the evening was possible thanks to our partners: Polish Business Roundtable, Chivas Regal (with special thanks to Mr. Fabrykiewicz), Bentley Poland, Polish Watch and Clocks Collectors Club and Manager MBA magazine. Together we managed to create a very special and quality event, that makes us truly proud. 6th edition of “WOTY” is coming in just 12 months.

Leave a Reply